Translete this site

Showing posts with label Tutorial. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tutorial. Show all posts

Hide a RAR file in a JPG file

First you need to have a rar file and a jpg image to hide the rar
Say the jpg is “image.jpg” and the rar is “file.rar”

Go to Windows command prompt (Start>Run>type cmd and press enter)

Now type this command:
copy /b image.jpg + file.rar newfile.jpg

switch “/b” indicates the copy function is binary
“newfile.jpg” is the resulting image with the rar file embedded (you can use a name of your choice)

That’s all

When you click on newfile.jpg the image will be displayed. Now it you change the jpg extension to rar (ie: newfile.rar) and open it with WinRAR the contents of the embedded rar file will be displayed.

The jpg can be replaced with a bmp,png,gif or swf file. The rar archive can be replaced with zip,tar.gz/bz2 or 7z archive. Actually in theory you can use any image format and any archive.

Here are some sample commands:
copy /b image.bmp + file.zip newfile.jpg
copy /b image.gif + file.7z newfile.jpg
copy /b image.png + file.tar.gz newfile.jpg
copy /b image.swf + file.rar newfile.jpg

Associate an icon with a drive

To set the icon of any drive (hard disk, cd rom or anything else) with a letter (C:\ etc.), run REGEDIT (Start -> Run -> regedit)

Navigate to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer

If one doesn't already exist, create a new KEY called "DriveIcons". Under this key, create a new key with the letter of your drive.

I.e. C for your C:\ drive.

To change the icon for that drive, create a key inside that one called DefaultIcon and set the path of (Default) to the location of your icon

eg C\DefaultIcon\
then (Default) = D:\Documents\C Drive Icon.ico

To change the name of that drive, create a key in the drive letter one (eg C\) called DefaultLabel and set the (Default) to what you want the drive to be called.
This is useful if you want to assign a long name to the floppy drive.

Show Super Hidden Files

Even if you turn on show hidden files in Windows Explorer some files will remain hidden. These files are super hidden. Set the registry value below to 1.



[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\M*cro$oft\Windows\
CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced]
“SuperHidden” = 1



You will need to reboot after changing this setting for it to work.
dont mess around whith all those files



What are Super Hidden Files?

M*cro$oft has added many features to Windows XP to protect the critical files of the operating system. The system file checker, for instance, continually monitors the system files to ensure that no application will replace your system files with a version that Windows XP was not designed to work with. The new super hidden files feature allows Windows to protect itself even further by hiding some of its most critical files from the user. If they can't get to it, they can't hurt it, right?

Activate Windows XP Without Registration

1. Type Regedit on the Run Menu

2. Go to Hkey-Local_Machine/Software/ Microsoft/WindowsNT/CurrentVersion/
WPAEvents

3. Select OOBETimer (Reg-Binary) and Press Enter. Now You will See a Set of 12 Keys.

4. FF D5 71 D6 8B 6A 8D 6F D5 33 93 FD
{just delete D6 (4th entry) and replace it with C4}

5. Exit Regedit.

6. Type "%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a" on the Run Menu (without quotes)

7. Select "Yes I want to telephone a customer service representative to activate windows".

8. Click Next

9. Select "Change Product Key"

10. Put these keys
QMDGV-QRC2B-XF6JB-GRGHK-W9DRC

11. Select Update

Dont worry about asking again to register , close that

Restart the system and repeat steps 6 to 11, now the process will tell you that Windows XP is already activated.

Thats All.

Setup Your Own Web Server On Window Xp

Setup Your Own Web Sever on Windows Xp
A simple guide to turn your xp box to a web server

Now days everybody wants have there own we server. Then the important question. What would be the cheapest way to do it? If you are on a broadband connection (cable/dsl), Windows XP Professional IIS (Internet Information Server) is the cheapest answer.

Step 1 ) Accessing the Win Xp IIS Interface

First you have to check whether IIS is already turned on.

Go to [START] -> [CONTROL PANEL] -> [ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS]
Check to see whether [Internet Information Services] shortcut is already there. If it is skip step 2.

Step 2 ) Installing Win Xp IIS

Go to [START] -> [CONTROL PANEL] -> [ADD REMOVE PROGRAMS]
Click on [Add/Remove Windows Components] Tab
Scroll down to Internet Information Services (IIS)
Check the box on the left and click apply.

Step 3 ) Starting IIS

Click to [START] -> [CONTROL PANEL] -> [ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS]
Click on [Internet Information Services]
Now you will see the IIS user interface
Expand the left tree under (your computer name)(local computer)
You will see Web Sites ? FTP Sites ? Default SMTP Virtual Server
Expand [Web Sites]
You will see [Default Web Site Started or Stopped]
If it is stopped, [RIGHT CLICK] on [DEFAULT WEB SITE] and click start.

Step 4 ) Checking to see whether IIS is actually working

Open your web browser
On the address bar type http://localhost
You will see the default IIS welcome screen
If you see the welcome screen your web server is up and running.

Step 5 ) Pinching a small hold in your firewall

If you have ICF (Internet Connection Firewall) Enabled you will have to open up port 80 to let the world access your web server
Go to [START] -> [RIGHT CLICK MY NETWORK PLACES] -> [CLICK PROPERTIES]
[RIGHT CLICK] on your Lan or High Speed Internet Connection
[CLICK PROPERTIES]
[CLICK] on the Advanced Tab
[CLICK] [PROTECT MY COMPUTER] Check box
[CLICK] [SETTINGS] at the bottom of the dialog box
Under the [SERVICES] tab check the [WEB SERVER]
[CLICK OK]
If you have a router/firewall you will have to enable [PORT FORWADING] to enable access to your web server from the outside world. Make sure [PORT 80] is forwarded to the PC(IP) your running the web server.

Step 6 ) Placing the files

By default your web server directory will be located at C:\Inetpub\wwwroot
Now you can place you *.html, *.htm and *.asp files there

Getting a dynamic DNS for your personal web Server

Now that you have your Web Server running, let?s get a unique name for it. There are few Dynamic DNS providers out there, but my favorite is SITELUTIONS.COM

But if you don?t have your own domain name and wish to use a free service, I recommend www.no-ip.com. Visit their web site and register for the free NO-IP service and download the DUC Client for windows. Now every time your IP changes the DUC client will update the new IP at NO-IP DNS servers. So you will always be able to access your web server using yourname.no-ip.com

If you plan to use your own domain name go to www.sitelutions.com. They provide the best service that you can find for free. If you?re looking for a reliable Domain Name Registrar check out www.godaddy.com.

Once you get your own domain name, go to your domain control panel and update your DNS servers to the ones that the Dynamic DNS Provider gives you.

Amazing Notepad Trick

This is amazing trick to hide simple txt file from other people, it's useful if you share one commuter with other people

1-open up command prompt window (start menu run type cmd)
2-choose with partion you want to save this file in my case i choosed C and then type c \

3-first we going to create a new notepad file so let's type notepad file1.txt



4- click save and write anything, this file is one it's gonna be visible to other


5-now we going to create the hidden file so we need to type notepad file1.txt:hidden.txt

6-click save and write anything that you don't want anyone to see it



now here is the trick the file hidden.txt is not visible any where else you can't view or open this file from windows explorer





the only way you can open hidden.txt is by command prompt window

to open it type notepad file1.txt:hidden.txt

this is good way if you want to hide simple txt file from other people, no one can open hidden.txt except if someone know the name of hidden.txt and file1.txt

Tips & Tricks for Symbians!!!!!

Tip 1 : Do u know how to use the edit button (abc or pencil button)?
Heres how... in the inbox for example; u wanna delete multiple sms, simply hold the edit button, scroll down, and then, press c to delete the marked sms. The edit button can also b used to copy and past text in sms, simply hold it and scroll across, choose copy. pretty good for placing song names in ngages

Tip 2 : Shit happens, on a smartphone, its inevitable u do something wrong, and tis calls for a format of fone. to format the fone, press *#7370#, then enter the lock code, which is the sec code of the fone. NOTE: batt must b ful|, else if format is disrupted by low batt, consequences will b disatrous
I heard the code *#7780# works too, pretty much the same i tink.
for 6600 users, to format the fone, theres an alternative way. Press and hold <3>, <*> and Call (Send) buttons, then power on fone, keep holding on the 3 buttons, till u come to a format screen. this method ONLY works on 6600, and need not enter the sec code. BUT sec code would be reset to default 12345.

Tip 3 : TO NGAGE USERS; Did u know u can install .sis files simply using the cable given? Juz plug it in, place the .sis file anywhere on e: (the mmc), not in any folders, root of e:, disconnect, then look for it in manager.

Tip 4: Save on battery and system memory being used by regulary checking the task manager which can be accessed by holding down the menu button!!

Tip 5: Type *#06# to display your IMEI seri@l number, very valuable for the unlocking your phone to other sim cards

Tip 6: Type *#0000# to view which firmware version you are running

Tip 4a: Set the screen saver to a short time out period to prolong battery life.

Tip 4b: Avoid restarting the phone, or repeatedly turning it on and off. This helps
increase battery life.

Tip 7: If you would like to avoid being "blue jacked", keep bluetooth turned off, or set your phone's visibility to hidden.

Tip 8: Don't want to carry a watch and a phone? Set the screen saver to show date and time, then you can ditch the watch.

Tip 9: Save memory when installing apps, by installing over bluetooth. This can be done using the nokia phone suite and a bluetooth seri@l connection. Only works with .SIS files, so java still has to be sent to the phone, but will save space when using .SIS files.

Tip 10: Operator logos
Use a filemanager like FExplorer or SeleQ to add the folders: "c:/system/Apps/phone/oplogo". Add a .bmp picture to folder "oplogo" and restart your phone! The .bmp picture size needs to be: 97 x 25 pixels

Tip 11: Check if the recepients phone is on
Delivery reports
or
Type *0# your message in the message composer window space then write your message, the recipient will not see the star zero hash bit - just the message When they read it it will relay a message back to your fone showing the time they recieved it. (haven't yet tried it myself though)

Tip 12: BlueJacking
First up, you need to know what Bluetooth is. There are lots of types of modern devices that incorporate Bluetooth as one of their many features. PDAs, mobile phones and laptops are a few of these modern devices. Bluetooth means that Bluetooth enabled devices can send things like phonebook/address book contacts, pictures & notes to other Bluetooth enabled devices wirelessly over a range of about 10 metres. So, we've got past the boring part. Now, using a phone with Bluetooth, you can create a phonebook contact and write a message, eg. 'Hello, you've been bluejacked', in the 'Name' field. Then you can search for other phones with Bluetooth and send that phonebook contact to them. On their phone, a message will popup saying "'Hello, you've been bluejacked' has just been received by Bluetooth" or something along those lines. For most 'victims' they will have no idea as to how the message appeared on their phone.

Tip 13: While you are viewing a picture in your phone's gallery, press one of these shortcut keys (definitely works on 6600, not sure about other symbians)
1 - turn image anticlockwise
3 - turn image clockwise
* - toggle on/off of ful| screen
5 - zoom in
0 - zoom out
#15 u can select all files in a folder by selecting THE folder and copy it then paste it somewhere. however u need to make a new directory. fexplorer wun let u copy that folder together. well seleQ can mark files to copy but it really takes time!
#16: A soft and Hard reset
A Soft-reset - the process of resetting all the settings of the phone to the factory default! No applications are deleted! A Hard-reset is like formatting a drive! It does format the memory. Everything that has been installed after the first use of the phone is deleted! It will recover the memory of the phone to the state you purchased it! It is done by inputing the following code: *#7370# NOTE: The battery must be ful| or the charger has to be connected to the phone so that it does not run out of power and make the phone unusable.
#17: Formats of images
supported ones: JPG UPF GIF87a/89a WBMB MBM TIFF/F PNG EXIF
How to copy & paste text in your Nokia 3650:
Press and hold the pencil key and select your text using the scroll key.
Left function key will change to 'Copy'. Press it to copy the selected text to clipboard.
You can paste the clipboard contents the same way:
press and hold the pencil key and press 'Paste'. Or, press pencil key once and select 'Paste'.
Press and hold the Menu key to open the application switching window, where you can *duh* switch between applications.
If a program hangs and you can't shut it down, select the application in the
application switching window and press 'C' to kill it. It's also a faster way to exit programs.
Turn on/off the "click" sound made by the camera by selecting the 'Silent' profile or by turning warning tones on/off:
Menu > Profiles > "select your activated profile" > Personalise > Warning tones > On/Off.
(This also effects the sound of Java games and apps).
To change background image go to:
Menu > Tools > Settings > Phone > Standby mode > Background image > Yes > "choose an image".
The best size for background images is 174x132 pixels.
Only got blue, green and purple in your 3650 colour palette?
This free app adds 3 more colours: Palette Extender.
Display an image when someone's calling:
Menu > Contacts > "select a contact card" > Options > Edit > Options > Add thumbnail > "choose an image".
Add a personal ringing tone to a contact:
Menu > Contacts > "select a contact card" > Options > Open > Options > Ringing tone > "choose a ringing tone".
Delete all messages from your Inbox at once:
Menu > Messaging > Inbox > Options > Mark/Unmark > Mark all > Options > Delete.
Send or hide your caller ID: Go to: Menu > Tools > Settings > Call > Send My
Caller ID > 'Yes', 'No' or 'Set By Network' to follow the default settings of your home network.
If you often copy large files to your MultiMedia Card, I recommend a card reader.
E.g. With a card reader it takes only 12 seconds to copy a 10 MB file!
Record the sound of a phone call using the (sound) Recorder.
Menu > Extra's > Recorder > Options > Record sound clip.
Note: short beeps are audible during call registration.
But there is a 60 second limitation so if you want unlimited sound recording get this app: Extended Recorder.
While writing text, press "#" to switch between upper and lower case and Dictonary on/off (predictive text input).
Press and hold "#" to switch between Alpha mode and Number mode.
Keyboard shortcuts for zooming and rotating images in Images:
1 = zoom in, 0 = zoom out, press and hold to return to the normal view.
2 = rotate anticlockwise, 9 = rotate clockwise, * = ful| screen.
In standby mode, press and hold the right soft key to activate voice dialling.
To add a voice tag to a phone number, open a contact card and scroll to the phone number and select:
Options > Add voice tag.
You can customize both soft keys located below the screen (in standby mode):
Menu > Tools > Settings > Phone > Standby mode > Left/Right selection key > "select an application".
In standby mode. press scroll key center (joystick) to go directly to Contacts.
In standby mode, press and hold 0 to launch your wap home page.
In Menu or any subfolder, press numbers 1 - 9 to start the application at that location.
123
456
789
In standby mode,
45# + dials the number on your sim in memory slot 45.
50# + dials slot 50 and so on.
If you have your keylock activated just press the on/off button to turn on your backlight
to look at the time when it's dark without having to unlock the keypad.
Never, ever, in your whole life, install WildSkinz on your Nokia 3650!!! WildSkinz screws up
the whole 3650 system. It was never intended to work on the 3650, only on the 7650.


Why assigning vide0 Recorder in the right or left soft key does not work?


(Sound Recorder is launched instead of vide0 Recorder)
It's a bug with firmware version 2.50.
How to check your firmware version:


A "Firmware" is the phone's operating system stored in internal Flash memory of the device (disk Z.
Manufacturers release new firmware versions containing bug fixes, improvements and - sometimes - offering new functions.
Firmware upgrade can only be made in authorized Nokia service centre (point).
To check your current firmware version simply type *#0000# on main Phone screen.

·
How to check your IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity)?


Type *#06# on main Phone screen.


Start up in Safe Mode so no 'auto start' apps will be running:


To make sure that no memory-resident programs start when you reboot your phone,
hold down the pencil key when you turn on the phone and hold it on untill you have to enter your PIN code.
(When you have trouble booting up the phone with the MMC in it because it got corrupted for some reason, this trick will
almost always let you boot up the phone so you can remove the latest installed app which might have caused the
problem or if your phone is "unrepairable" you can still back up your important data before you do a format.)
Q: How to totally format your Nokia 3650 and remove all installed applications, user files and restore all
settings to default like it's new out of the box? (OEM apps won't be deleted like Camera and RealOne Player).


A: First Format your MMC: Menu > Extras > Memory > Options > Format mem. card > Yes.
Note: It is very important to format your MMC before you format your phone!
Then format your phone by typing *#7370# on main Phone screen.
Phone will ask: "Restore all original phone settings? Phone will restart." Press 'Yes' and enter your Lock code (default is 12345).
Tip: Formatting takes several minutes so you'd better connect your Nokia 3650
to a charger to ensure that your battery doesn't get empty in the middle of formatting.
Note: All your created acces points and mailboxes will be lost so take a note of them. And all application settings will be reset.
E.g. In Camera, image quality is set back to normal and memory in use is set back to phone memory. And also in Messages,
memory in use is set back to phone memory, etc. Also backup your contacts with PC Suite or a program like Contacts Manager.

To reset your wallet, should you forget your code,
Type in:
*#7370925538#
this will reset the wallet code, the wallet contents will be deleted.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to free more RAM on your phone >>>


>>> Method 1: Flight mode:

Put your phone in "Flight mode" with Psiloc System Tools. Install System Tools, open it and select "Flight mode". This way you can restart the phone without your SIM card so there will be no running phone tasks in the background. Now you can have up to 3,5 MB of free RAM!

Note: ironically enough, Flight mode doesn't work when Smart Launcher is installed, at least in my case.
But i've also heard several reports of people who have both apps running without any problems.



>>> Method 2: Smart Launcher trick:

Install Smart Launcher and open it. Go to Options, Settings and put Launcher ON.
Now plug in your charger and switch off your phone. Wait untill the battery meter appears and short press the Menu button (don't hold).
The menu should appear and now you can have 3,5 to 4,5 MB free RAM! (Hold Menu button to check RAM).

The trick is that with the charger plugged in, the phone must get a minimum software support for charging, even when
the phone is switched off. And somehow Smart Launcher has still got it's shortcut running and that's the Menu button. So when
you press the Menu button, you go directly to the Menu without any other phone tasks running in the background so
you trick the phone and you have more free RAM!
Note: when you unplug the charger, the phone will switch off.
>>> Method 3: Menu :

This method I found it by myself, it frees a little about 100~200 KB but I guess it's useful sometime

Close your menu not by selecting the right selection key "exit", or pressing the menu key another time, they only hide the menu app but do not close it, to close it select the left selection key "option" and scroll down and select "exit"

So when you open an app needs more ram reopen menu and close it, it's useful when play low bit rate vide0 in realplayer paradis. __________________

How To Turn Off Vista's Useless Junk And Speed Up Your PC






There are over 100 background services running in Vista. Most of them do nothing but slow you down!

Any frequent reader of my Hubs knows that I am far from Windows Vista's greatest fan. I may actually be one of the loudest and most persistent critics of this misbegotten excuse for an operating system (OS).
I am currently receiving a measure of vindication as more and more people are finding stubborn and often insurmountable problems with drivers, applications, and worst of all, the sheer sluggishness of this monstrous OS which requires a jaw-dropping 15GB of free hard drive space just to install. And if you ever want to uninstall it, you're better off just reformatting the disk or you'll be weeks just trying to put all the pieces back together.
There are well over a hundred services inside Vista's innards, and most of them do absolutely nothing for the common, average user other than slow down his PC to a crawl and require outrageous amounts of hard drive space, RAM and CPU cycles. If you are even remotely considering using Vista, you had better have an uncle in the PC business as you're going to require a system with some truly massive power. All the people who think that just because their Centrino 512MB RAM laptop has a sticker that says it's "Vista Ready" that you'll actually be able to do something with it. Lots of luck!
There is so much sheer unadulterated trash gumming up the works on Vista that the average, normal user is truly well off by just turning the vast majority of it off. The readers of my Hubs are not generally the top multinational enterprise administrator types, but regular men and women who just use their computers for everyday common uses. I can assure you that well over 99% of these readers do not have any need whatsoever for the following Windows Vista services running all the time and turning your speedy computer into a mud bog slogger:
Infrared Monitor Service
KTMRM for Distributed Transaction Coordinator
Network Access Protection Agent
Peer Name Resolution Protocol
Pen Service
PnP-X IP Bus Enumerator Service
Remote Access Connection Manager
Remote Registry
Secondary Logon
SL UI Notification Service
SSDP Discover Service
Tablet PC Input Service
TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
UPnP Device Host
Virtual Disk
WebClient
Windows Management Instrumentation
Windows Media Center Extender Service
WinHTTP WebProxy AutoDiscovery Service
and let's not even mention Aero! (Gag!)
These are the ones that can be easily terminated in common, everyday scenarios and you'd never miss them for an instant. However, there is a really great resource over at Black Viper. It lists every single service that runs on every flavor of Vista and which ones can be terminated and under what situations. It also gives you specific and easy to follow instructions on how to do that! Turning many of these off will make your system fast and responsive again. If you were stupid enough to buy Vista, do something smart for a change! Go check out that website and start turning off all that useless OS junk!

Have Fun with the Command Prompt...

Here’s a cheap trick to amuse yourself when you get bored.

Open a command prompt (Start, Run, cmd, OK) and enter the following command:

title mostwanted is 1337

then check out the title bar of the command window.

Of course you’ll want to substitute your own text string for your own amusement.

Creating a Realistic Looking Object Using V-Ray In 3D Studio Max

This tutorial will teach you how to create a realistic looking object using V-Ray which is a very popular renderer that is widely used in the making of movies and videogames. V-Ray is not a built-in tool in 3D Studio Max and will have to be installed before attempting this tutorial. You can learn more about V-Ray from the official website of Chaos Group - the makers of V-Ray. This tutorial is only involved with the process of creating a V-Ray render and will not involve any modeling. ..

Creating a Realistic Looking Object USing Vray and HRI in 3D Studio MAX

There are three different elements in our scene above, the teapot, the floor, and the surrounding environment. We will have to create and apply three different materials to each of these objects to create our final scene. The texture on the floor was created using an external image editor, and the same goes to the image reflected on the pot as well. We have uploaded the textures that we have used so that you can follow this tutorial easily. Please download the zip file at this link and extract the two files in it before we start this tutorial.

We will start by setting up our scene; go to Create>Geometry>Plane to create a simple plane in the centre of our scene. Your plane should have the following specs: Width: 150, Length:150, Length Seg: 1, Width Seg: 1, Render Multipliers: 100.

Create a plane

We are using the 'Teapot' object in our tutorial. You may use any object that you wish, but for the sake of the tutorial add a 'Teapot' by going to Create>Geometry>Teapot and set its parameters as illustrated in the image below:

Add a teapot!

Our scene is now ready, before we start creating our materials, we need to setup the render engine to use V-Ray. Start off by going through Rendering>Render>Common>Assign Render>Production>Vray Render and set the initial parameters of the renderer under the "Renderer" tab as illustrated in the image below:

Initial Parameters

The Adaptive Subdivision is one of the three antialasing algorithms that V-Ray uses. The Irradiance Map is a method of computing the illumination only at specific points in the scene. Please refer to the V-Ray documentation for more information.

Under the same tab, find the "Environment" rollout and activate the two available "Overrides" - Namely, the GI Environment and the Reflection Environment effects. You will have to assign a material for both which will work as environment map, click on the button that says "None" to access the "Material/Map Browser" where you would have to look for and select "VRay HDRI". After clicking on OK, you can simply drag the now "Map#1 (VRayHDRI)" to the button below it saying "None" to duplicate its content.

Environment Overrides
Click to Enlarge

While keeping the VRay window still open, access the "Material Editor" by pressing "M" on your keyboard or going through Rendering>Material Editor. You will then have to drag the button you dragged earlier "Map#1 (VRayHDRI)" to the first slot in your Material Editor.

Create the new material
Click to Enlarge

We will now use the map that you have downloaded at the start of this tutorial. Select the first slot in the Material Editor and then click on "Browse" under the Parameters rollout. Find the map that you have downloaded. Once selected, set the Map type to "Cubic environment".

First Material - Imprt - Set Type as Cubic

Floor Material

Select the second slot in the Material Editor and then click on the "Standard" button to open the Material/Map Browser. Select "VRayMtl" from that list and click on OK. Click then on the square button next to the Diffuse colour to open the Material/Map Browser once again, this time you have to select "Bitmap" to use the Bitmap.jpg that you have downloaded at the start of this tutorial.

Second Material - Standard - Bitmap
Click to Enlarge

Search for the "Coordinates" rollout in the materials properties and set the 'tilling' to X=1200 and Y=1200. You would also have to set the Mapping to "Planar from Object XYZ". Our material is now almost done. Apply it to the plane that we have on the stage by clicking on the 'Assign Material to Object' button: Assign material to object button.

Floor materai.

We are now going to make our floor more realistic by adding bump and reflection maps to it. Get back to the parent material by clicking this button: Parent Material Button. Scroll down and open the "Maps" rollout and drag a material from 'Diffuse' to the "Reflect" map. Select a copy on the pop up window and drag it again to 'Bump" map and select "Instance" on the pop up window. Go the Bitmap Settings of 'Diffuse', look for the "Output" rollout and set the Output Amount to 1.3.


Click to Enlarge

The Teapot Material

We are going to create our final material now. Select an empty slot in the Material Editor. Hit the 'Standard' button and select "Raytrace" from the Material/Map list. Change the 'Diffuse' colour to dark red (or whatever colour you wish to use for your pot!) and set the reflection colour to gray. Set the specular level to zero. Finally, drag the material in the first slot (Our VRayHRD material) to the Environment map.

Teapot material
Click to Enlarge

You can optionally change the reflection colour to white to get a more mirror like reflection on the teapot. You do not have to do this for our tutorial, but it is a nice element to experiment with on your own. You can now simply apply the material that we have created to our teapot using the "Assign Material to Object" button. Render the scene once you're ready and you should get something similar to the image displayed here:

Creating a Realistic Looking Object USing Vray and HRI in 3D Studio MAX

3DSM - Object Explosion (tutorial)


Here you will be taught how to blow up an object.

1) Make any object you want. I used a sphere.

2) Go to CREATE > PARTICLES > PARRAY

3) Create a PArray somewhere, it doesn't matter what size it is. I made my small so it doesn't get in my way.


4) Click where it say PICK OBJECT then click on the sphere. Then set the PArray to these setting. You can play around with the Object Fragment Controls and the Spin Speed Controls to rotate or change the shape of the chuncks.


5) At the bottom you will see a time-line. Move it to see how your object explodes. I moved mine to 4 and you can see what it looks like.


6) Thats it. If you want to get rid of the original sphere and just have the chunks, rigth click on the sphere and click "Hide selected object". Here what mine looks like.

3D Ice Cube (Photoshop tute)


In this tutorial we'll try to build a realistic 3D ice cube. Usually this kind of stuff is done with the help of some 3D software like Maya or 3DMax, still we'll try to use Photoshop tools to do the work.
To make the job easier I searched the Internet and found this Lightwawe tutorial, and try to emulate it's final result using only Photoshop. To do that we must have a closer look at the way a 3D software works.
First the 3d object is build, then a proper illumination environment is build around object, and finally some material texture is attached on the surfaces of the object, with respective illumination rules working on it.

Tutorial is organized in steps, each step will contain the description of actions taken, and the result you should get. All work was done in Adobe Photoshop CS2, and I assume that you have some intermediate knowledge of working with Photoshop..
You will start with the a dark background and a 3D cube of three layers (left, top, front). (this will be some kind of step 0 :-) ...)



So here are the steps:

Step 1. First we assume that the source (spotlight) will be somwhere on the left side of the cube , let's say upper left, so how is the light behavior on cube ? From the school physics, we know that the when light meets some surface it will reflect (coming back, and therefore illuminating the object) , or it will refract, penetrating the object if this has some degree of transparency, and changing its direction. So in our case, the left face of the cube will be strong illuminated, some light will penetrate the cube, traverse it on diagonal way , and refract out again, close to the right edge on the front face of the cube. To picture this, we shall use the dodge tool, to emphasis the illuminated zones. Keep in mind that we have established the light source to be on the upper left of the cube. Select:
Dodge Tool with Range:Highlits, Exposure:60%
and on these three layers simply draw the entry and out points for light as discussed. Looks a little bit grossier, but this operation will have no influence over the final result, the goal is only to familiarize you with illuminated zones and how to deal with dodge tool to achive this.





Step 2. Next, we'll have render some texture over the cube. Unfortunately, we do not have much of a choice, we can take some external texture and integrate it, but we'll stick to old render clouds method. For each face of the cube we'll apply the same steps so let's take the front layer:
Duplicate layer, you'll get a front copy layer. Select again front layer, set foreground color to black, background to white, fill the layer with white and do:
Filter->Render->Difference Clouds
, repeat operation (Ctrl-F) until you get a structure with enough black-white contrast and distinct random zones within. This layer will be the 'raw' material for further prelucrations. The problem is that difference clouds filter can't be manipulated in order to build inner clouds structure on one directin, it's a random process, so we can't emulate some regularity in texture, as sometimes happens in real world. To work this, select the front layer copy and do:
Filter->Render->Fibres with parameters Variance:16, Strength:26. Align fibers orientation with face layer orientation, and this is what you should have:





Make fibres layer invisible for now, set the background color to white, select front layer, choose Magic Wand tool, click no matter where, outside the layer, then
Select->Inverse,
Select->Feather, with Feather Radius:10, go on with
Filter->Distort->Ocean Ripple,with Ripple Size:9, Ripple Magnitude:14, deselect, then
Filter->Blur->Gaussian Blur
with Radius:1-1,3
, and this is what you should have (or close):







Let's give it a nice blue color, so
Image->Adjustment->Color Balance with values -100,-36, +100.

Step 3. Now take a deep breath and repeat all steps for the two remaining layers of the cube, the top, and the left. But before that, just a piece of advice: as you maybe already noticed, I manipulated the difference cloud result in such a way, that after applying Ocean Ripple Filter, the white portions resulted, will emulate the light reflections, in fact refractions for front layer case. Keep in mind the illumination pattern, we draw at the beginning of this tutorial. Also do not forget the fiber layers associated with left and top faces. This was the result for me:





Step 4. Now bring the fiber layer over corresponding, top, left and front layers, align these as perfect as possible, merge them into one layer, name it final_cube, and do the following:
1. first blur the shown zones marked in red:
Filter->Blur->Gaussian Blur with Radius:1,3
2. use doge tool on zones marked in white:
Dogde Tool, Range:Highlights, Exposure:60%
3. desaturate zone marked in dark
Select->Feather with value in between 10-15, then
Image->Adjustments->Hue/Saturation with saturation value in between -60,-70;

In order to enhance that light blue areas near by the white ones do:
Image->Adjustments->Selective Color, with Method:Relative, select Whites, set Cyan slider value: 70-100%
Here are marked working areas:





...and here is the result for me:





Step 5. Our cube looks ok, but still is lacking some ice texture and edges has to be enhanced, by marking their curvature with some thin fiber textures. We'll take the upper left edge, so make new layer:
Layer->New->Layer select a rectangle aprox. by the size of our cube, fill this new layer with white name it 'texture_upper_left', then:
Filter->Render->Fibres with parameters Variance:16, Strength:26 bring the layer in front, rotate in such a way that the fiber direction to be cross with the edge direction, then
Edit->Transform-Warp, do the modeling by 'bending' the fiber layer over the edge. Here is the result:





Remove with a soft erase tool the unnecessary parts of the layer, bring it to the 10-12% transparency, set the layer blend mode to overlay. Here is the partial result:





Repeat these steps for other two edges. Repeat these steps, without warp part for other three fibered layers associeted with top, front, and left starting layers. Merge this layers all together. You should have something like this:





Step 6. We can stop here, but we are still not pleased with the cube's look, so that's what we'll do more:
  • arrange the front corner with some illuminations touch
  • putting some irregularities the outer edges of the cube, to give it more realistic look
  • arrange a nice background
  • So, create a new layer, name it 'corner' draw a selection around left edge of the ice cube front corner, set a feather about 10 value, and fill the selection with blue (#3287d7), as seen in the picture below; select again dodge tool (range:highlights, exposure: 50-80%) and draw the reflection areas. Using different exposures values you can emulate spot of lights near diffuse light. The images bellow shows this:





    Tweak, until you feel that you've got the best realistic appeareance, finally remove selections and with a soft brush eraser tool remove the dark blue, just let some around the lighted zone to emphasis the area. Take care at the blending 'corner' layer with the background. Do the same with for right edge of the corner. Or simply just recycle the layer already made, duplicate it, rotate in position and tweak a little. You may use liquify filter to arrange pixels, layer mask for better blending, brushes, whatever you think will do. This is my result:





    And finally, with a soft brush eraser tool (master diameter:5px) delete some irreguralities around the cube as no real ice cube has perfect line edges. Increase the contrast a little bit, and draw the background with the shadow (remember the light source is on upper left corner !) and some reflections at the base of the cube. The FINAL result:





    That's all friends, have fun !

    Rendering objects in a solid/wire mix (3dmax)




    In this tutorial you will learn how to render an object to an image with both the solid and the wireframe render, without using PhotoShop or anything else than 3D Studio Max. Key terms include wire, Opacity map, Push modifier and Lattice modifier. This tutorial is aimed at the beginner, but should be interesting for the more advanced 3D artists as well. Although this tutorial is based on 3D Studio Max, the same techniques apply to many other 3D products.

    Note: Click on the thumbnail in each step for a larger screenshot that includes the viewports and the relevant portion of the user interface.

    Step 1

    This is not a modeling tutorial, so you need to add an object to your scene yourself. This can be anything from simple sphere to a detailed character. I used part of the nut from our logo.

    For good results, the model needs to be textured or have some basic material(s) assigned to it.


    Step 2
    Select the object and press CTRL-V to clone it. In the Clone Options dialog, select Copy, change the name to Clone, and press OK.

    (You won't be able to see the clone yet.)


    Step 3
    Select the clone (this happens automatically when you clone an object), and add a Push modifier with a Push Value of 0.30 (or more, or less, depending on the geometry of the model, you should fine tune this setting in step 7).


    Step 4
    This step is optional. If you use an object with a MeshSmooth modifier, or if the model is an Editable Poly with NURMS Subdivision enabled, lower down the Iterations value.

    For example, if the original object has an Iterations value of 1, set the Iterations value of the clone to 0.

    Step 5
    Press the M key to open the Material Editor (or select Material Editor from the Rendering menu), select an available slot and rename the material to Wire.

    Change the Diffuse color to the color you want to use for the wire frame.

    Drag the material to the outer object in the scene to assign it, or click the Assign Material to Selection button while the outer object is selected.

    Step 6
    Enable the Wire option for the material as shown in the screen shot. Scroll down a bit in the Material Editor and open the Extended parameters roll-out.

    Change the wireframe thickness to 0.3 (try other values after rendering to check which works best for your model).

    Step 7
    Now press F9 or F10 to render and check out the results.

    If the wireframe goes inside the solid model on certain spots, you should increase the Push value of the Push modifier on the clone. If there is (too much) space between the solid and the wireframe model, decrease the Push value.

    Step 8
    This is another optional step for those using a smoothed model. If the clone has less Iterations it might not follow the solid model close enough to look good. You can solve this, for most models, by adding a Relax modifier to the clone. You will probably have to increase the Push value a bit more if you do use a Relax modifier.

    Step 9
    You probably noticed examples on the web of objects rendered solid with only a portion of the wireframe fading away. This can be done within 3D Studio Max, without using an image editor.

    Select the Wire material in the Material Editor, and click the empty square button after Opacity. Select Gradient from the list and click OK.

    Step 10
    The Opacity map needs a black (transparent) and a white portion (visible). Gray will result in semi-transparent. Instead of using a Gradient map, you can also use a Checker, Falloff, or any other kind of map/texture that has black and white parts. Set the 2nd color of the Gradient map to nearly black.

    Render again (F9 or F10) and notice part of the wireframe fading away. (You may need to change the settings of the opacity map, ie. tiling or rotating it.)

    I've also included a second render in the screenshot with a tiled Checker map as the Opacity map.

    Step 11
    Now let's use a whole different approach to create a wireframe-like object: the Lattice modifier.
    First select the Wire material in the Material Editor and disable the Wire option. Remove the Opacity map (by dragging an empty map to it).
    Select the clone object and apply a Lattice modifier with the values as displayed in the screenshot (or values that apply better to your model).

    Step 12
    Render again and check out the results.

    You may need to increase the Push Value of the Push modifier to get the balls at the junctions to lean on the inner original model.



    Step 13
    Instead of showing the both edges and the balls, you can also choose to display only the balls at the junctions by selecting the Joints Only from Vertices option in the Lattice modifier settings, or show only the edges by selecting the Struts Only from Edges option in the Lattice modifier settings

    Step 14
    You can use the same Opactiy map method as we used earlier to make the wireframe fade away.